## . . breaking news . .

## Five CoB Faculty Awarded Tenure for 2009-10

JACKSON – At the <u>May-09 IHL Board meeting</u>, set to occur tomorrow (13-May) and Thursday (14-May), five CoB faculty will be awarded tenure, which will begin in the 2009-10 academic year. These individuals are John Clark (FIN), Fujun Lai (DS), Farooq Malik (FIN), Lance Nail (FIN), and Michael Wittmann (MKT).



Fujun Lai

USMNEWS.net readers will recall that Lai, an associate professor of decision sciences, won the *2009 Louis K. Brandt Faculty Research Award* in USM's CoB just a few days ago. Over his brief career to date, Lai has amassed what is arguably the top research portfolio of anyone to have served on the CoB's decision sciences faculty in the history of the organization.



Lance Nail

Sources say that it is interesting to see new CoB dean Lance Nail's name among the five. Nail, also a professor of finance, was hired during the spring of 2008. Getting tenure in May of 2009 means that Nail served his first year in USM's CoB (2008-09) without any employment protection. This indicates that central administrators at USM are still maintaining a tight fist on newly hired administrators. Apparently, Nail is not as *free* to operate and manage the CoB as previously thought.



John Clark

Clark arrived in the CoB back in 2003 with Harold Doty, so he (Clark) made a full, sixyear tenure track run, despite having been at the University of Missouri – Kansas City for approximately the same length of time before coming to the CoB. Thus, Clark was given no credit for past experience. And unlike Lai's tenure-track run at USM, Clark's was clearly a closer call. Sources indicate that very little of Clark's research falls under the finance umbrella, and that he has only one A-level finance journal publication over an approximately 12 year academic career.



Farooq Malik

Malik's time in the CoB has been quite controversial. Malik was recently moved into finance, without the consent of the finance faculty, as an explicit reward for his loyalty to the political aims of EFIB chairman George Carter. That loyalty also provided Malik with a \$20,000/year raise just a few short years ago. This story is told in more detail in the USMNEWS.net archives.



M. Wittmann

The list concludes with Michael Wittmann, the CoB's *Draughn Distinguished Associate Professor of Healthcare Marketing*. Wittmann arrived at USM's CoB in the years after Clark, following a stint at the University of North Texas. Thus, the CoB's "tenure credit policy" is anything but universal. Sources say that Wittmann's academic lineage, having graduated from USM, likely gave him a speedier tenure track than that ridden by Clark for six years. On the other hand, Clark's marketing research credentials are miles ahead of Wittmann's, as reports here at USMNEWS.net attest. As one source points out, "... the CoB is a wacky world."

Finally, sources predict that (at least) three of these five newly-tenured faculty will exit USM's CoB within the next three years or so. These are John Clark, Fujun Lai, and Lance Nail. Nail will most likely be moving on through the "dean's market" in the years to come.